Kingdom Kids – Heaven’s Treasure, Our Delight

Children are important to God. Children are important to Jesus. Children are important to the Church. It is today’s children who will take the love of Jesus and His Word to the next generation. Every child is ‘Heaven’s Treasure and should be our Delight.’

At our Kingdom Kids class held every Sunday between 9:30 to 11:15 am the children have been learning about The Five Crowns, also known as the Five Heavenly Crowns, this is a concept in theology that pertains to the five crowns that individuals can receive in Heaven after the last judgement. These are the Crown of Righteousness (2 Timothy 4:8), the Incorruptible Crown (1 Corinthians 9:24-25), the Crown of Rejoicing (1 Thessalonians 2:19), the Crown of Glory (1 Peter 5:4), and the Crown of Life. (Revelation 2:10)

The Greek word for “crown” is stephanos which means “a badge of royalty, a prize in the public games or a symbol of honor generally.” Used during the ancient Greek games, it referred to a wreath or garland of leaves placed on a victor’s head as a reward for winning an athletic contest. As such, this word is used figuratively in the New Testament of the rewards of heaven God promises those who are faithful.

Apostle Paul best defines for us how these crowns are awarded in

1 Corinthians 9:24-25 …“You know that in a race all the runners run. But only one gets the prize. So run like that. Run to win! All those who compete in the games use strict training. They do this so that they can win a crown. That crown is an earthly thing that lasts only a short time. But our crown will continue forever.”

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply